Welcome to the E-Blah Community!
We would like to welcome you to our community and invite you to register an account or login.
Being a registered member is important, as it gives you several advantages over the normal Guest status. After registering you will be able to download files and images, post messages, and access member-only portions of the forum - just to name a few. Registration is quick and simple, and only takes about a minute of your time.

E-Blah Community    Technical Support    Install Issues  ›  No theme showing: forum naked :o
Users Browsing Forum
No Members and 2 Guests

No theme showing: forum naked :o  This thread currently has 2,260 views. Print
2 Pages 1 2 » Recommend Thread
David100351
February 14, 2010, 4:09pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Expert on Elliott 803B.
Posts: 53
Gender: Male
Posts Per Day: 0.03
Time Online: 18 hours 25 minutes
Location: Horwich, Lancashire, UK
Hi, I installed a new forum on my free heart internet site from the control panel.

it's installed fine, but there is no "skin." According to the control panel, X2 is installed as default, but it isn't showing. This includes the admin panel itself. I've been through all the CHMODs and put them to recommended (I think).

Have you come across this problem before?

It's http://www.the-online-therapist.org 10.3.6 X2 Modrewrite
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message
Nat
February 14, 2010, 4:20pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Here to help
Administrator
Posts: 2,000
Gender: Male
Posts Per Day: 1.21
Reputation: 87.23%
Reputation Score: +41 / -6
Time Online: 3 days 4 hours 29 minutes
Location: Manchester UK
Age: 52
Try another installation in case the 1st one is corrupt...


"Thats the way the mop flops"
Logged Offline
Site Site Private Message Private message Reply: 1 - 29
Nat
February 14, 2010, 4:21pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Here to help
Administrator
Posts: 2,000
Gender: Male
Posts Per Day: 1.21
Reputation: 87.23%
Reputation Score: +41 / -6
Time Online: 3 days 4 hours 29 minutes
Location: Manchester UK
Age: 52
also forgot to mention.. make sure that the directory you are installing to is empty.. The Heart one click install should be fine.


"Thats the way the mop flops"
Logged Offline
Site Site Private Message Private message Reply: 2 - 29
David100351
February 15, 2010, 4:48am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Expert on Elliott 803B.
Posts: 53
Gender: Male
Posts Per Day: 0.03
Time Online: 18 hours 25 minutes
Location: Horwich, Lancashire, UK
This is the second one. Same problem with the first. Hear internet support say that perhaps I should pay for a package if I need their support on this, rather than just use their free offering: but for goodness sake, its their default installation!

Love love love  
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 3 - 29
iCONICA
February 15, 2010, 7:25am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Forum Moderation
Posts: 1,431
Gender: Male
Posts Per Day: 0.63
Reputation: 98.25%
Reputation Score: +56 / -1
Time Online: 16 days 2 hours 30 minutes
Location: Manchester UK
The path to your stylesheet starts // , when just / is what's needed. You should edit that in Settings.pl or via your control panel if you can access it.  


Logged Offline
Site Site Private Message Private message Reply: 4 - 29
David100351
February 15, 2010, 8:34am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Expert on Elliott 803B.
Posts: 53
Gender: Male
Posts Per Day: 0.03
Time Online: 18 hours 25 minutes
Location: Horwich, Lancashire, UK
Thanks Iconica!
You seriously overestimate my competence: however I thought "template" was the closest to stylesheet, edited out a "/" and lo and behold, it appeared.

Taking a daring chance, I edited it out of the Buttons, Smilies, Avatars and other such paths as well. At least I know what to try if they go a bit squiffy.

Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 5 - 29
David100351
February 15, 2010, 9:26am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Expert on Elliott 803B.
Posts: 53
Gender: Male
Posts Per Day: 0.03
Time Online: 18 hours 25 minutes
Location: Horwich, Lancashire, UK
All working well!

Another success!
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 6 - 29
iCONICA
February 15, 2010, 12:01pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Forum Moderation
Posts: 1,431
Gender: Male
Posts Per Day: 0.63
Reputation: 98.25%
Reputation Score: +56 / -1
Time Online: 16 days 2 hours 30 minutes
Location: Manchester UK
Glad it worked.


Logged Offline
Site Site Private Message Private message Reply: 7 - 29
David100351
February 18, 2010, 5:55am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Expert on Elliott 803B.
Posts: 53
Gender: Male
Posts Per Day: 0.03
Time Online: 18 hours 25 minutes
Location: Horwich, Lancashire, UK
Thanks to your help.

An update:

I've posted this here as some or all of this is probably connected to the install settings.

Smilies are there to be clicked on, but don't then appear in the text box. I have ticked the option in the admin control panel, limit 200, so have reached the limits of my competence there.

The Forum news isn't showing up. That is to say, the box is there, but the scrolling lines aren't.

The forum runs INCREDIBLY slowly for EBlah. Is this just Heart's free hosting offering, or is it me?

It isn't affecting functionality, but if anyone has time for a quick look .... http://www.the-online-therapist.org .... I would be grateful.
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 8 - 29
PubGuv
February 18, 2010, 12:24pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator
E-Blah Member
Posts: 8
Posts Per Day: 0.01
Time Online: 3 hours 57 minutes
Quoted from David100351

The Forum news isn't showing up. That is to say, the box is there, but the scrolling lines aren't.


Have just installed with Heartinternet too and had the same problems.

The script is looking for news.js in the blahdocs folder, it was not placed there. I copied news.js from the public_html folder to blahdocs and scrolling news works fine now.

Jay

Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 9 - 29
iCONICA
February 18, 2010, 1:36pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Forum Moderation
Posts: 1,431
Gender: Male
Posts Per Day: 0.63
Reputation: 98.25%
Reputation Score: +56 / -1
Time Online: 16 days 2 hours 30 minutes
Location: Manchester UK
Again, a heart internet issue.
They also changed one of our client's FTP details without telling anyone about it, so we couldn't access their site, they won't speak to us unless a ticket is logged on the site and the client is so much of a technophobe that they won't call about the FTP details... So thanks Heart, again proved your worth...

No doubt Nat will take offence to that...   I'm sure he has shares in them...  


Logged Offline
Site Site Private Message Private message Reply: 10 - 29
David100351
February 18, 2010, 3:49pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Expert on Elliott 803B.
Posts: 53
Gender: Male
Posts Per Day: 0.03
Time Online: 18 hours 25 minutes
Location: Horwich, Lancashire, UK
Quoted from iCONICA
Again, a heart internet issue.
They also changed one of our client's FTP details without telling anyone about it,


They've just started locking the FTP access from their eXtend panel: that could be it. You can unlock the FTP by logging in to the eXtend control panel.



Ah, nice to have a smiley!

I tried moving the news.js to blahdocs. I checked my other website which has all kind of things in blahdocs, so I copied the lot into blahdocs. No difference at all. I think perhaps I need to have another look at the file permissions, just in case that I didn't chmod them correctly as they aren't where I expected........

No, it's beyond me. And still no scrolling news.

Anyone fancy a look?

Revision History (2 edits)
David100351  -  February 18, 2010, 4:30pm
David100351  -  February 18, 2010, 4:15pm
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 11 - 29
PubGuv
February 18, 2010, 7:57pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator
E-Blah Member
Posts: 8
Posts Per Day: 0.01
Time Online: 3 hours 57 minutes
Hi David

I gave up on the Heartinternet install, files were placed all-over the server, so I deleted the lot and did a fresh install after d/l from eBlah. Followed the install instructions and hey presto! Everything seems to be working fine. All I needed to do was change the chmod on the setup.pl file.

Maybe its an option you should consider?

Jay
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 12 - 29
David100351
February 19, 2010, 3:19am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Expert on Elliott 803B.
Posts: 53
Gender: Male
Posts Per Day: 0.03
Time Online: 18 hours 25 minutes
Location: Horwich, Lancashire, UK
Quoted from PubGuv
I gave up on the Heartinternet install, files were placed all-over the server, so I deleted the lot and did a fresh install after d/l from eBlah.


Hi Jay,

I was lying in bed last night and that thought occurred to me too. It made me toss, turn and perspire slightly. I'm glad to hear it worked for you, though. I suspect that's my Sunday afternoon gone! Could you post your site url so I can look at the speed?

Nat, a new thread on Heart Internet Free Hosting -- eblah install needs to be posted with the instructions on. Including the dire warning that it isn't a good idea to use the default install, but just to download from here and upload as directed.

Once I install, how do I get it to launch from the short url rather than the cgi-bin url? - Is that straightforward?
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 13 - 29
PubGuv
February 19, 2010, 5:24am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator
E-Blah Member
Posts: 8
Posts Per Day: 0.01
Time Online: 3 hours 57 minutes
Quoted from David100351

Could you post your site url so I can look at the speed?


Here you go.

Jay
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 14 - 29
2 Pages 1 2 » Recommend Thread
Print

E-Blah Community    Technical Support    Install Issues  ›  No theme showing: forum naked :o

Thread Tags